ATHENS STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES BOARD MEETING July 19, 2024

The Athens State University Board of Trustees (also referred herein as the Board) held a meeting at 2:30 p.m. on Friday, July 19, 2024 in the Sandridge Student Center Ballroom to consider University matters.

PRESIDING: Senator Arthur Orr

The Board of Trustees meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m. by Senator Orr.

ROLL CALL

On roll call, the following Board members were present and constituted a quorum to conduct business:

Mr. Jim America (electronically)

Ms. Cathy Dickens

Mr. Bill Dunnavant (electronically)

Senator Arthur Orr

Mr. Goodrich 'Dus' Rogers

Dr. Sandra Sims-deGraffenried (electronically)

Mrs. Missy Ming Smith

Mike Underwood

Also present were Dr. Catherine Wehlburg, President of Athens State University, and Ms. Jackie Gooch, Secretary to the Board. Governor Kay Ivey, and Chancellor Jimmy Baker, and Mac McCutcheon were absent. Approximately 75 faculty/staff attended in-person and electronically.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. Dickens, the Board approved the agenda by the following roll-call vote:

Jim America – YES Cathy Dickens – YES Bill Dunnavant – YES Senator Arthur Orr - YES Dus Rogers – YES
Sandra Sims-deGraffenried - YES
Missy Ming Smith – YES

Mike Underwood – YES

Trustee Smith requested that a moment of silence be observed for the recent events in our country.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

On a motion made by Mr. Underwood and seconded by Ms. Dickens, the Board approved the minutes from the May 17, 2024 Board meeting by the following roll-call vote:

Jim America – YES Cathy Dickens – YES Bill Dunnayant – YES Senator Arthur Orr - YES Dus Rogers – YES Sandra Sims-deGraffenried - YES

Mike Underwood – YES

PUBLIC COMMENT

No one officially registered for public comment.

OLD BUSINESS, PENDING MOTIONS AND RESOLUTION

None.

NEW BUSINESS, PENDING MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Review and Reaffirmation of Statement on Inclusion and Civility (Attachment A)

On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mr. America, the Board reaffirmed the Statement on Inclusion and Civility. This motion was approved by the following roll-call vote:

Jim America – YES
Cathy Dickens – YES
Bill Dunnavant – YES
Senator Arthur Orr - YES

Dus Rogers – YES Sandra Sims-deGraffenried - YES Missy Ming Smith – YES Mike Underwood – YES

2025 Board Meeting Dates (Attachment B)

On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mr. America, the Board approved the 2025 Board Meeting Dates:

January 17, 2025 May 16, 2025 July 18, 2025 October 17, 2025

This motion was approved by the following roll-call vote:

Jim America – YES Cathy Dickens – YES Bill Dunnavant – YES Senator Arthur Orr - YES Dus Rogers – YES Sandra Sims-deGraffenried - YES Missy Ming Smith – YES Mike Underwood – YES

2024-2025 Board Committee Structure and Charter Approval (Attachment C)

On a motion made by Dr. Sims-deGraffenried and seconded by Mr. America, the Board approved the 2024-2025 Board Committee Structure and corresponding charters. This motion was approved by the following roll-call vote:

Jim America – YES

Dus Rogers – YES

Cathy Dickens – YES Sandra Sims-deGraffenried - YES

Bill Dunnavant – YES Missy Ming Smith – YES Senator Arthur Orr - YES Mike Underwood – YES

2024-2025 Executive Committee Membership

(Attachment D)

On a motion made by Ms. Smith and seconded by Ms. Dickens, the Board approved the Executive Committee Charter and membership for 2024-2025 as follows:

Chair Pro Tempore, Chair

Vice Chair Pro Tempore

Bill Dunnavant

Mac McCutcheon

Dus Rogers

University President (non-voting)

Recorder (non-voting)

This motion was approved by the following roll-call vote:

Jim America – YES Dus Rogers – YES

Cathy Dickens – YES Sandra Sims-deGraffenried - YES

Bill Dunnavant – Abstain Missy Ming Smith – YES Senator Arthur Orr - YES Mike Underwood – YES

2023 Board Self-Evaluation Results

(Attachment E)

On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mr. America, the Board accepted the 2023 Board Self-Evaluation results as presented. This motion was approved by the following roll-call vote:

Jim America – YES Dus Rogers – YES

Cathy Dickens – YES Sandra Sims-deGraffenried - YES

Bill Dunnavant – YES
Senator Arthur Orr - YES
Missy Ming Smith – YES
Mike Underwood – YES

Election of Chair *Pro Tempore* 2024-2026 (Attachment F)

Senator Orr opened the floor for nominations. Dr. Sims-deGraffenried nominated Senator Orr. On a motion by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. Dickens, nominations were closed. This motion was approved by the following roll-call vote:

Jim America – YES Cathy Dickens – YES Bill Dunnavant – YES Senator Arthur Orr - Abstain Dus Rogers – YES Sandra Sims-deGraffenried - YES Missy Ming Smith – YES Mike Underwood – YES

Election of Vice Chair *Pro Tempore 2024-2026* (Attachment G)

Senator Orr opened the floor for nominations. Senator Orr nominated Mr. America. On a motion by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Dr. Sims-deGraffenried, nominations were closed. This motion was approved by the following roll-call vote:

Jim America – Abstain Cathy Dickens – YES Bill Dunnavant – YES Senator Arthur Orr - YES Dus Rogers - YES Sandra Sims-deGraffenried - YES Missy Ming Smith – YES Mike Underwood – YES

FY 224-2025 Budget (Attachment H)

On a motion made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Mr. Underwood, the Board approved the FY 2024-2025 Budget as presented to include a 2% COLA.

A request to amend the 2024-2025 budget was made by Mrs. Smith and seconded by Mr. Dunnavant to delay step increases, CUPA adjustments and the 2% COLA until January 2025. Following discussion Mrs. Smith withdrew her request to amend.

The original motion to approve the FY 2024-2025 Budget as presented with the 2% COLA was approved by the following roll-call vote:

Jim America – YES Cathy Dickens – YES Bill Dunnavant – YES Senator Arthur Orr - YES Dus Rogers - YES Sandra Sims-deGraffenried - YES Missy Ming Smith – YES Mike Underwood – YES

OTHER BUSINESS (No Action Required)

Learning Partnerships

Dr. Keith Ferguson provided an update on Learning Partnerships.

Foundation/Endowment Update

Dr. Keith Ferguson provided an update on Foundation and Endowments.

Quarterly Financial Update

The Board received the quarterly financial update.

Alabama Commission on Education (ACHE) Update

The Board received a handout on actions taken by the Commission.

Fact Book (Published July 2024)

The Board received the Fact Book published July 2024.

President's Report/Update

Dr. Wehlburg also provided a written report including but not limited to the following:

- 1. Thanked Dr. Lee Vartanian for his service as Interim Provost.
- 2. Welcomed Dr. Alyson Gill as the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs and Student Services.
- 3. Strategic Plan under development.
- 4. Giving Day scheduled for August 6, 2024.
- 5. Homecoming Friday, July 26, 2024 at 6:00 pm.
- 6. Summer Commencement Saturday, July 27, 2024 at 10:00 am.
- 7. Thanked the three Board members who are rotating off the Board. These three individuals represent 31 years of combined service on the Board and serve as role models for women in leadership.

Board Committee Updates and Report Acceptance

Finance and Facilities Committee - Mr. Rogers

Mr. Rogers provided the Finance and Facilities Committee update.

Enrollment and Student Affairs Committee - Mr. America

Mr. America provided the Enrollment and Student Affairs Committee update.

Academic Affairs Committee - Ms. Dickens

Ms. Dickens provided the Academic Affairs Committee update.

External Affairs Committee - Mrs. Smith

Mrs. Smith provided the External Affairs Committee update.

CLOSING COMMENTS

Senator Orr presented the outgoing Board members with gifts of appreciation and Senate resolutions honoring their service.

ADJOURNMENT

Senator Orr adjourned the Athens State University Board of Trustees meeting at 4:01 pm.